Zainub Verjee Cultural Administrator, Arts Advocate, Art Critic, Art Centre/Gallery Director, Artist
Mississauga, Ontario
Outstanding Contribution Award

Born in Nairobi, Kenya, Zainub Verjee was educated in England and immigrated to Canada in the early 1970s. She has seamlessly played multiple roles and has shaped culture policy at all levels of government and was instrumental in building cultural institutions and organizations in Canada and internationally. Fuelled by passion, vision and a staunch conviction that art is a public good, Zainub is regularly invited to speak nationally and internationally and has been published in numerous academic, cultural and critical fora.

Zainub co-founded the critically acclaimed In Visible Colours: An International Film/Video Festival & Symposium for Third World Women and Women of Colour. Among many appointments to boards, she is proud of her work at the B.C. Arts Board, which led to the formation of the British Columbia Arts Council. She is the executive director of the Ontario Association of Art Galleries, in Toronto, and lives in Mississauga, Ontario.

Zainub Verjee's Website

“Working with as much regard for the centre as for the periphery, Verjee’s modus operandi has been one of developing platforms for the disparate constituents of the Canadian artistic community . . . throughout her career in arts administration, she has managed to leaven effective space for ‘wild’ innovation and ‘undisciplined’ dissent. She has channelled these disruptive energies towards achieving change at the heart of power, while maintaining some degree of functional harmony for the whole.

As early as the 1980s, Zainub had begun to address what have since become the formative themes in Canadian visual and media arts. Through her art practice, critical writings, distribution activities, programming, policy work and leadership, she has taken bold and challenging positions on questions of diversity, access, technology and artist's rights. All these issues have become pillars in the formation of the sector.”

Nominator: Niranjan Rajah, Assistant Professor, School of Interactive Arts and Technology, Simon Fraser University, Artist, Theorist, Curator

“Through her art practice, critical writings, distribution activities, programming, policy work and leadership, she has taken bold and challenging positions on questions of diversity, access, technology and artist's rights.”

Selected works

2020 Winners

Nominate an artist today!

Know someone who deserves a GGArts award? Deadline: June 1

Submit a nomination

Zainub Verjee Administratrice culturelle, défenseure des arts, critique d’art, directrice de centres/galeries d’art, artiste
Mississauga, Ontario
Prix pour contribution exceptionnelle

Née à Nairobi, au Kenya, Zainub Verjee a étudié en Angleterre et a immigré au Canada au début des années 1970. Elle a joué de façon harmonieuse de nombreux rôles et a façonné la politique culturelle à tous les niveaux du gouvernement, et a contribué à la mise sur pied d’institutions et d’organisations culturelles au Canada et à l’étranger. Alimentée par sa passion, sa vision et son ardente conviction que l’art est un bien public, Zainub Verjee est régulièrement invitée à faire des conférences au pays et à l’étranger, et a été publiée dans de nombreux forums académiques, culturels et critiques.

Zainub Verjee a cofondé la manifestation saluée par la critique In Visible Colours, un festival et symposium international du film et de la vidéo pour les femmes du tiers monde et les femmes de couleur. Parmi ses nombreuses nominations sur des conseils, elle est fière de son travail qui a mené à la formation du Conseil des arts de la Colombie-Britannique. Elle est directrice générale de l’association ontarienne des galeries d’art, à Toronto, et vit à Mississauga, en Ontario.

Visitez le site web de Zainub Verjee

« Avec autant d’estime pour le centre que pour la périphérie, le mode opératoire de Verjee est de créer des plateformes pour les composants disparates de la communauté artistique canadienne. Par sa carrière dans l’administration des arts, elle a réussi à favoriser des espaces efficaces pour l’innovation « sauvage » et la dissidence « indisciplinée ». Elle a canalisé ces énergies perturbatrices vers l’atteinte d’un changement au cœur du pouvoir, tout en maintenant un certain degré d’harmonie fonctionnelle globale.

Dans les années 1980, Zainub a commencé à aborder ce qui est depuis devenu les thèmes formateurs des arts visuels et médiatiques canadiens. Par sa pratique, ses critiques, ses activités de diffusion, sa programmation, son travail sur les politiques et son leadership, elle a pris des positions audacieuses et ambitieuses sur les questions de la diversité, de l’accès, de la technologie et des droits des artistes. Toutes ces questions sont devenues des piliers de la formation du secteur. »

Mise en candidature : Niranjan Rajah, professeur adjoint, School of Interactive Arts and Technology, Université Simon Fraser, artiste, théoricien, commissaire

« Par sa pratique, ses critiques, ses activités de diffusion, sa programmation, son travail sur les politiques et son leadership, elle a pris des positions audacieuses et ambitieuses sur les questions de la diversité, de l’accès, de la technologie et des droits des artistes. »

Selected works

Gagnantes et gagnants de 2020

Proposez la candidature d'une ou d’un artiste dès aujourd’hui!

Vous connaissez une personne qui mérite de recevoir un prix GGArts? Date limite : le 1er juin

Proposez une candidature