Ruth Cuthand Visual Artist
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Ruth Cuthand is a Canadian mixed media artist of Plains Cree and Scottish ancestry whose practice includes painting, drawing, photography and beadwork. Born in 1954 in Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, she grew up in Alberta, where as a child she met artist Gerald Tailfeathers, who inspired her to become an artist herself. Through her anti-aesthetic stance, her work challenges mainstream perspectives of colonialism and the relationships between settlers and Indigenous people in a practice marked by a delicate balance of political invective and humour. Ruth is widely considered an influential feminist artist of the Canadian prairies and is lauded for her unflinching interpretation of racism and colonialism.

Ruth’s work is featured in many collections, including the National Gallery of Canada, the Art Gallery of Ontario and the MacKenzie Art Gallery. In 2013, she was recognized with a Lieutenant Governor’s Arts Award. Ruth lives and works in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan.

Ruth Cuthand's Website

“Ruth Cuthand is an artist, mentor, teacher, activist, and mother, and member of Little Pine First Nation. Her career has been devoted to exploring the impacts of colonialism on Indigenous people in Canada and resisting the forces of oppression through the use of sharp intellect, biting humour, and powerful aesthetics. She is well-known as a leading figure in contemporary Indigenous art as well as a powerful voice in the Canadian art scene’s ongoing discussions of colonialism, racism, and reconciliation. Her influence, mentorship, and support of many artists, past and present, have been an important component in the building of an infrastructure for contemporary Indigenous art in Canada.”

Nominators: Jen Budney, Professional Research Associate at Canadian Centre for the Study of Co-operatives, Michelle Lavallee, Director of Indigenous Art Centre at Crown–Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada, jake moore, Director of the University Art Galleries and Collection at the University of Saskatchewan

Logo Art Bank

See this artist’s work in the Art Bank collection

“Her influence, mentorship, and support of many artists, past and present, have been an important component in the building of an infrastructure for contemporary Indigenous art in Canada.”

Selected works

2020 Winners

Nominate an artist today!

Know someone who deserves a GGArts award? Deadline: June 1

Submit a nomination

Ruth Cuthand Artiste en arts visuels
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Ruth Cuthand est une artiste multimédia canadienne de descendance écossaise et des Cris des plaines dont la pratique comprend la peinture, le dessin, la photographie et le perlage. Née en 1954 à Prince Albert, en Saskatchewan, elle a grandi en Alberta, où, enfant, elle a rencontré l’artiste Gerald Tailfeathers qui l’a inspirée à devenir elle-même artiste. Par sa position anti-esthétique, son œuvre provoque les points de vue conventionnels du colonialisme et les relations entre les colonisateurs et les Autochtones dans une pratique marquée par un équilibre délicat d’invective politique et d’humour.  Ruth Cuthand est largement considérée comme une artiste féministe influente des Prairies canadiennes et est louangée pour son interprétation indéfectible du racisme et du colonialisme.

L’œuvre de Ruth Cuthand est présente dans de nombreuses collections, y compris celle du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, du Musée des beaux-arts de l’Ontario et de la MacKenzie Art Gallery. En 2013, elle a été lauréate d’un prix des arts du lieutenant-gouverneur. Ruth vit et travaille à Saskatoon, en Saskatchewan.

Visitez le site web de Ruth Cuthand

 « Ruth Cuthand est artiste, mentore, professeure, activiste, mère et membre de la Première Nation Little Pine. Elle a consacré sa carrière à l’exploration des répercussions du colonialisme sur les Autochtones du Canada et à la résistance aux forces de l’oppression grâce une intelligence affûtée, un humour mordant et une esthétique puissante. Elle est bien connue comme figure de proue de l’art autochtone contemporain et pour sa voix puissante sur la scène de l’art canadien dans les discussions sur le colonialisme, le racisme et la réconciliation. Son influence, son mentorat et son soutien d’un grand nombre d’artistes, passés et présents, ont été des composants importants de la construction d’une infrastructure pour l’art autochtone contemporain au Canada. »

Mise en candidature : Jen Budney, associée en recherche professionnelle du Canadian Centre for the Study of Co-operatives, Michelle Lavallee, directrice du centre d’art autochtone de Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada, jake moore, directrice des galeries et des collections d’art de l’Université de la Saskatchewan.

Logo Banque d'art

Regardez les œuvres de l’artiste dans la collection de la Banque d’art du Conseil des arts.

« Son influence, son mentorat et son soutien d’un grand nombre d’artistes, passés et présents, ont été des composants importants de la construction d’une infrastructure pour l’art autochtone contemporain au Canada. »

Selected works

Gagnantes et gagnants de 2020

Proposez la candidature d'une ou d’un artiste dès aujourd’hui!

Vous connaissez une personne qui mérite de recevoir un prix GGArts? Date limite : le 1er juin

Proposez une candidature