Luc Courchesne Media Artist
Montréal, Quebec

Luc Courchesne is a pioneer in media art and design. From interactive portraiture to immersive experience apparatuses, he has developed innovative approaches that have earned him prestigious awards like the Prix Paul-Émile Borduas (Prix du Québec, 2019), the Grand Prix of the ICC Biennale 1997 in Tokyo, an Award of Distinction (1999) and several Honorary Mentions (1994, 1996, 2002) at Prix Ars Electronica in Linz, Austria. They have also led to an exhibition at the Museum of Modern Art in New York (1994), an invitation by Nam June Paik to present at the Gwangju Biennale (1995) and participations in Wired’s NextFest in Chicago (2006) and New York City (2007). His work is part of major public and private collections in North America, Europe and Asia, including the ZKM (Karlsruhe), the ICC (Tokyo), the National Gallery of Canada (Ottawa) and the Canadian Centre for Architecture (Montreal). A graduate of the Nova Scotia College of Art and Design (1974) and of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (1984), Courchesne was a student of Otto Piene, Michael Snow and Anthony Mann. Luc Courchesne is a founding member of the Société des arts technologiques, honorary professor at Université de Montréal and a member of the Royal Canadian Academy of Arts.

Luc Courchesne’s Website

“By inventing a device that allows for visual immersion, [Courchesne] was able to include panascopic images in his installations, an innovation that transforms viewers of the work into visitors, actors and even inhabitants of his experiential contrivances.

His work has made him one of the key creators/inventors to have opened new avenues and blazed new trails for practices that are sure to grow in leaps and bounds as fresh generations of creators enter the field of digital art.

As the owner of the gallery that exhibits his works, I have had the honour of working with Courchesne since 2003, and we have collaborated on more than 25 occasions. I am particularly proud of this association with an internationally recognized artist who is a pioneer in new media and the digital arts, and the first recipient working in the digital arts to receive the Prix Paul-Émile Borduas in 2019.”

NominatorPierre-François Ouellette art contemporain (PFOAC), Pierre-François Ouellette, Director

Logo Art Bank

See this artist’s work in the Art Bank collection

“His work has made him one of the key creators/inventors to have opened new avenues and blazed new trails for practices that are sure to grow in leaps and bounds as fresh generations of creators enter the field of digital art.”

Selected works

Discover the 2021 Winners

Know someone who deserves a GGArts award? Deadline: June 1

Submit a nomination

Luc Courchesne Artiste des médias
Montréal, Québec

 

Luc Courchesne est un pionnier des arts et du design numériques. Des portraits interactifs aux systèmes d’expérience immersive, il créé des approches novatrices qui lui ont valu des récompenses prestigieuses, comme le Prix Paul-Émile Borduas (2019), le Grand Prix de la Biennale de l’ICC à Tokyo (1997), ainsi que l’Award of Distinction (1999) et plusieurs mentions honorables (1994, 1996 et 2002) d’Ars Electronica, à Linz en Autriche. Son travail a aussi donné lieu à une exposition au Museum of Modern Art de New York (1994), à une invitation, par Nam June Paik, à présenter ses œuvres à la Gwangju Biennale (1995) et à des participations au Wired’s Next Fest, à Chicago (2006) et à New York (2007). Ses œuvres font partie des grandes collections publiques et privées de l’Amérique du Nord, de l’Europe et de l’Asie, dont celles du ZKM (Karlsruhe), de l’ICC (Tokyo), du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada (Ottawa) et du Centre canadien d’architecture (Montréal). Diplômé du Collège d’art et de design de la Nouvelle-Écosse en 1974, puis du Massachusetts Institute of Technology en 1984, il a été l’élève d’Otto Piene, de Michael Snow et d’Anthony Mann. Professeur honoraire à l’Université de Montréal, il est aussi l’un des membres fondateurs de la Société des arts technologiques et membre de l’Académie royale des arts du Canada.

Site web de Luc Courchesne

 

« Inventeur d’un dispositif qui permet l’immersion visuelle, [Luc Courchesne] a contribué par ses installations et ses images “panoscopiques” à transformer le spectateur de l’œuvre en visiteur, acteur et même habitant de ses dispositifs expérientiels.

Sa démarche le place au rang des créateurs-inventeurs qui ouvrent de nouvelles voies et qui balisent des pratiques destinées à prendre une ampleur extraordinaire à mesure que les nouvelles générations de créateurs investissent le champ de l’art numérique. 

J’ai l’honneur de travailler avec Luc Courchesne depuis 2003 comme son galeriste et nous avons présenté ensemble son travail à plus de 25 occasions. Je suis particulièrement fier de cette association avec un artiste reconnu internationalement comme un pionnier des nouveaux médias et des arts numériques et premier récipiendaire travaillant en arts numériques du prix Paul-Émile Borduas l’an dernier. »

Candidature proposée par : Pierre-François Ouellette, directeur, pour Pierre-François Ouellette art contemporain (PFOAC)

Logo Banque d'art

Regardez les œuvres de l’artiste dans la collection de la Banque d’art du Conseil des arts.

« La démarche de Luc Courchesne le place au rang des créateurs-inventeurs qui ouvrent de nouvelles voies et qui balisent des pratiques destinées à prendre une ampleur extraordinaire à mesure que les nouvelles générations de créateurs investissent le champ de l’art numérique. »

 

Œuvres sélectionnées

Découvrez les gagnantes et gagnants de 2021

Vous connaissez une personne qui mérite de recevoir un prix GGArts? Date limite : le 1er juin

Proposez une candidature