Lori Blondeau Visual Artist
Winnipeg, Manitoba

Lori Blondeau is an interdisciplinary artist working primarily in performance and photography. She is Cree/Saulteaux/Métis from Saskatchewan. Her mother is Cree/Saulteaux from George Gordon First Nation, located in Treaty 4, and her late father was Métis from Lebret, Saskatchewan. Blondeau holds an MFA from the University of Saskatchewan. In addition to her extensive exhibition history she has sat on the Advisory Panel for Visual Arts for the Canada Council for the Arts. Blondeau has exhibited and performed nationally and internationally, including at the Banff Centre, the Mendel Art Gallery, in Saskatoon, Open Space, in Victoria, and FOFA, in Montréal. In 2007, Blondeau was part of the Requickening project with artist Shelley Niro at the Venice Biennale. She recently had a solo exhibition at the Urban Shaman Contemporary Aboriginal Art Gallery, in Winnipeg, and was part of the Scotia Bank Contact Festival, in Toronto. Her art is held in both public galleries and private collections.

Wikipedia page on Lori Blondeau

 

“Blondeau’s artwork advances on many fronts. In her performance and photographic practice, Blondeau frequently adopts personae that confront the hegemonic, violent images of Indigenous women that proliferate throughout settler culture.

Blondeau’s photography is deeply connected with her work as a performance artist, which she has made central to her practice. Like the photographs, the performances can be understood as interventions into the settler rhetoric and colonial imaginary.

Blondeau remains a decisive figure in Indigenous and Canadian contemporary art. Her artwork, activism, curatorial work and pedagogy are essential, and her transformative work continues to be groundbreaking and relevant.”

Nominator: Nasrin Himada, Curator, on behalf of the Plug In Institute of Contemporary Art

“Blondeau remains a decisive figure in Indigenous and Canadian contemporary art. Her artwork, activism, curatorial work and pedagogy are essential, and her transformative work continues to be groundbreaking and relevant.”

Selected works

Discover the 2021 Winners

Know someone who deserves a GGArts award? Deadline: June 1

Submit a nomination

Lori Blondeau Artiste en arts visuels
Winnipeg, Manitoba

Lori Blondeau est une artiste interdisciplinaire qui travaille surtout dans le domaine de la performance et de la photographie. Elle est Crie/Saulteaux/Métisse de la Saskatchewan. Sa mère est Crie/Saulteaux de la Première Nation George Gordon, située dans la zone couverte par le Traité no 4, et son père était Métis, de Lebret, en Saskatchewan. Lori Blondeau est titulaire d’une maîtrise en beaux-arts de l’Université de la Saskatchewan. En plus de toutes ses expositions, elle a fait partie d’un groupe de consultation pour le programme d’arts visuels du Conseil des arts du Canada. Elle a présenté ses œuvres et offert des prestations à l’échelle nationale et internationale, notamment au Banff Centre, à la Mendel Art Gallery (Saskatoon), à Open Space (Victoria) et à la FOFA (Montréal). En 2007, elle a participé au projet Requickening avec l’artiste Shelley Niro lors de la Biennale de Venise. Elle a récemment présenté une exposition solo à la Urban Shaman Contemporary Aboriginal Art Gallery de Winnipeg, et elle a participé au Scotia Bank Contact Festival, à Toronto. Ses œuvres font partie de galeries publiques et de collections privées.

Page Wikipedia sur Lori Blondeau (en anglais seulement)

 

« Les œuvres d’art de Lori Blondeau évoluent sur de nombreux fronts. Dans le cadre de ses représentations et de sa pratique de la photographie, elle assume souvent des rôles qui confrontent les images violentes et hégémoniques des femmes autochtones qui prolifèrent au sein de la culture coloniale.

Les photographies de Lori Blondeau sont profondément liées à son œuvre à titre d’artiste de la performance, et elles constituent l’élément central de sa pratique. Tout comme les photographies, les prestations peuvent être vues comme des interventions dans l’imaginaire rhétorique et colonial.

Lori Blondeau continue d’être une figure essentielle de l’art contemporain autochtone et canadien. Ses œuvres, son activisme, son travail de commissaire et sa pédagogie sont essentiels, et son travail visionnaire continue d’être innovant et pertinent. »

Candidature proposée par : Nasrin Himada, commissaire, pour le Plug In Institute of Contemporary Art

« Lori Blondeau continue d’être une figure essentielle de l’art contemporain autochtone et canadien. Ses œuvres, son activisme, son travail de commissaire et sa pédagogie sont essentiels, et son travail visionnaire continue d’être innovant et pertinent. »

Œuvres sélectionnées

Découvrez les gagnantes et gagnants de 2021

Vous connaissez une personne qui mérite de recevoir un prix GGArts? Date limite : le 1er juin

Proposez une candidature