Kenneth Robert Lum Visual Artist
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Kenneth Robert Lum is a contemporary artist born in Vancouver, British Columbia, in 1956. Ken is known for his politically engaged, conceptual and representational work in a number of media, including large-scale public art and architectural projects, painting, sculpture, and photography.

Ken has a long and active art exhibition record of over 30 years, including major exhibitions such as Documenta 11, the Venice Biennale, the Sao Paulo Bienal, the Shanghai Biennale and the Whitney Biennial, to name but a few. Since the mid-1990s, he has worked on numerous permanent public art commissions around the globe, including in Vienna, Rotterdam, Toronto and Vancouver. He has received a Guggenheim Fellowship, a Hnatynshyn Foundation Visual Arts Award and is a Penn Institute of Urban Research Fellow. In 2017, Ken was appointed an Officer of the Order of Canada and, in 2018, he was granted a Pew Fellowship from the Pew Center for Arts and Heritage. Most recently, Ken won the Gershon Iskowitz Prize for his outstanding contribution to Canadian visual arts. A long-time professor, he is currently the Chair of Fine Arts at the University of Pennsylvania’s School of Design in Philadelphia, where he currently resides.

Kenneth Robert Lum's Website

“Ken works across a variety of media, including painting, sculpture, photography and public art, and is known for his poignant depiction of contemporary society.

He is a living national treasure, whose prolific body of work over the last three decades continues to truly reshape the imagination of people in Canada as an uncomfortable nation, fractured by historical trauma and made up of diverse peoples.

Ken’s work manages to depict great tensions in the collective identity of people and cultures who face the difficulties of authenticity and social belonging. He does this with humility, using images that are often colourful, yet plainly rendered, that disarm us and challenge us to reconfigure our closed perceptions towards shared humanity. In addition to the contribution of his work, Ken’s role within the cultural sector gives mobility and certainty to new generations of artists and cultural workers, especially those whom have been disadvantaged in access to the cultural sector.

I bring Ken forward [for this prize] because of his distinguished contribution to art, to artwork in the public realm, to art writing and curating, and to post-secondary education in Canada and abroad.”

Nominator: Brian McBay, Co-Founder and Executive Director 221A

Logo Art Bank

See this artist’s work in the Art Bank collection

“He is a living national treasure, whose prolific body of work over the last three decades continues to truly reshape the imagination of people in Canada as an uncomfortable nation, fractured by historical trauma and made up of diverse peoples.”

Selected works

2020 Winners

Nominate an artist today!

Know someone who deserves a GGArts award? Deadline: June 1

Submit a nomination

Kenneth Robert Lum Artiste en arts visuels
Philadelphie, Pennsylvanie

Kenneth Robert Lum est un artiste contemporain né en 1956 à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique. Il est connu pour son œuvre politiquement engagée, conceptuelle et représentationnelle recourant à de nombreux moyens d’expression, y compris les projets d’art public et architecturaux de grande échelle, la peinture, la sculpture et la photographie.

Kenneth Robert Lum expose ses œuvres de façon active depuis plus de 30 ans. Il a participé à des expositions majeures, y compris Documenta 11, la Biennale de Venise, la biennale de Sao Paulo, la biennale de Shanghai et la biennale de Whitney, pour n’en nommer que quelques-unes. Depuis le milieu des années 1990, il a réalisé de nombreuses commandes d’art public permanent, y compris à Vienne, Rotterdam, Toronto et Vancouver. Il a reçu la Bourse Guggenheim, un prix en arts visuels de la fondation Hnatynshyn et est membre du Penn Institute of Urban Research. En 2017, il a été nommé Officier de l’ordre du Canada et, en 2018, il a reçu la bourse Pew du Pew Center for Arts and Heritage. Plus récemment, il a remporté le prix Gershon Iskowitz pour sa contribution exceptionnelle aux arts visuels canadiens. Professeur de longue date, il est actuellement président du département des beaux-arts de la School of Design de l’Université de Pennsylvanie à Philadelphie, où il demeure.

Visitez le site web de Kenneth Robert Lum

« Ken travaille avec diverses techniques, dont la peinture, la sculpture, la photographie et l’art public; il est reconnu pour sa représentation poignante de la société contemporaine.

C’est un trésor national vivant, dont l’œuvre prolifique des trois dernières décennies continue de remodeler l’imagination des habitants du Canada en tant que nation mal à l’aise, fracturée par des traumatismes historiques et composée de personnes diversifiées.

L’œuvre de Ken réussit à représenter les grandes tensions dans l’identité collective des peuples et des cultures qui doivent faire face aux difficultés de l’authenticité et de l’appartenance sociale. Il le fait avec humilité, en utilisant des images souvent colorées, mais rendues de façon simple, qui nous désarment et nous mettent au défi de reconfigurer nos perceptions fermées vers une humanité partagée. En plus de la contribution de son œuvre, le rôle de Ken dans le secteur culturel offre de la mobilité et de la certitude aux nouvelles générations d’artistes et de travailleurs culturels, spécialement ceux qui ont été désavantagés dans leur accès au domaine de la culture.

Je propose la candidature de Ken (pour ce prix) en raison de sa contribution distinguée à l’art, aux œuvres d’art dans l’espace public, à l’écriture sur l’art et la conservation de l’art, et l’éducation postsecondaire au Canada et à l’étranger. »

Mise en candidature : Brian McBay, cofondateur et directeur général de 221A

Logo Banque d'art

Regardez les œuvres de l’artiste dans la collection de la Banque d’art du Conseil des arts.

« C’est un trésor national vivant, dont l’œuvre prolifique des trois dernières décennies continue de remodeler l’imagination des habitants du Canada en tant que nation mal à l’aise, fracturée par des traumatismes historiques et composée de personnes diversifiées. »

Selected works

Gagnantes et gagnants de 2020

Proposez la candidature d'une ou d’un artiste dès aujourd’hui!

Vous connaissez une personne qui mérite de recevoir un prix GGArts? Date limite : le 1er juin

Proposez une candidature