Jorge Lozano Lorza Filmmaker
Toronto, Ontario

Jorge Lozano Lorza is an immigrant artist and filmmaker born in Colombia. He has been painting and filming, and making videos, sound, performance and installation works since he came to Canada in 1971. He has made over 150 movies—works that live not in-between, but within cultures. His work is a reflection of his personal commitment to epistemological disobedience and the investigation of different ways of thinking, feeling and doing.

Jorge’s fiction shorts have been screened at TIFF and Sundance, and internationally at many festivals, museums and galleries. He initiated the Crossing Borders Film Festival, the aluCine Toronto Latin Media Festival and converSalon in collaboration with Alexandra Gelis. Jorge is currently working on several feature-length deliriums, architectural installations and film fetish short forms in Toronto, Ontario, where he lives.

Jorge Lozano Lorza’s Website

“Lozano was ahead of his time and pointed the way for future generations of media artists, finding new forms to disrupt and make visible the unmarked and invisible privileges of whiteness. Along the way he experimented self-reflexively with forms in order to address power relations that shape the production, reception, and mediation of race representations.

Jorge Lozano is an artist who continues to reinvent his forms, his ways of living, and his community. He is forever translating his thoughts and encounters into media moments, deeply concerned with the art of asking questions. Why this gender? Why this desire, this neighbourhood, this poverty? The artist’s commitment to experimentalism is animated by the necessity of these questions, which are forever opening, like the artist’s heart.”

Nominator: Mike Hoolboom, filmmaker, GGArts Winner, 2017

“Jorge Lozano is an artist who continues to reinvent his forms, his ways of living, and his community.”

Selected works

2020 Winners

Nominate an artist today!

Know someone who deserves a GGArts award? Deadline: June 1

Submit a nomination

Jorge Lozano Lorza Réalisateur
Toronto, Ontario

Jorge Lozano Lorza est un artiste et un réalisateur immigrant né en Colombie. Depuis son arrivée au Canada en 1971, ses œuvres se composent de peintures, de films, de vidéos, de sons, de performances et d’installations. Il a réalisé plus de 150 films; des œuvres qui ne vivent pas entre les cultures, mais au sein des cultures. Son œuvre reflète son engagement personnel envers la désobéissance épistémologique et l’examen des différentes façons de penser, de ressentir et de faire.

Les courts-métrages de fiction de Jorge Lozano Lorza ont été présentés au TIFF et au Festival du film de Sundance, et dans de nombreux festivals, musées et galeries internationaux. Il a lancé le festival du film Crossing Borders, le festival latin du film et des médias aluCine de Toronto et converSalon en collaboration avec Alexandra Gelis. Il travaille actuellement sur plusieurs délires cinématographiques, installations architecturales et courts-métrages cultes à Toronto, en Ontario, où il vit.

Visitez le site web de Jorge Lozano Lorza

« Lozano était en avance sur son temps. Il a montré le chemin aux générations futures d’artistes médiatiques en trouvant de nouvelles manières de perturber et de rendre visibles les privilèges invisibles de la culture blanche. Il a joué de façon autoréflexive avec les formes afin de traiter des relations de pouvoir qui façonnent la production, la réception et la médiation des représentations raciales.

Jorge Lozano est un artiste qui continue de réinventer ses formes, ses façons de vivre et sa communauté. Il traduit continuellement ses pensées et rencontres en manifestations médiatiques et se préoccupe grandement de l’art de poser des questions. Pourquoi ce genre? Pourquoi ce désir, ce quartier, cette pauvreté? L’engagement de l’artiste envers l’expérimentalisme est animé par la nécessité de ces questions, toujours ouvertes, comme le cœur de celui qui les pose. »

Mise en candidature : Mike Hoolboom, réalisateur, gagnant aux GGArts de 2017

« Jorge Lozano est un artiste qui continue de réinventer ses formes, ses façons de vivre et sa communauté. »

Selected works

Gagnantes et gagnants de 2020

Proposez la candidature d'une ou d’un artiste dès aujourd’hui!

Vous connaissez une personne qui mérite de recevoir un prix GGArts? Date limite : le 1er juin

Proposez une candidature