Dempsey Bob Artist, Sculptor
Terrace, British Columbia

Dempsey Bob is one of the foremost Tahltan-Tlingit artists of his generation. An internationally renowned master carver, he has produced a widely exhibited body of work, which is inspired by his rich heritage. He has been a significant innovator of the Tahltan-Tlingit style for more than 50 years and continues to be an important leader for the development of the Northwest Coast cultural art form. He has built cross-cultural art partnerships with other Indigenous peoples, notably the Maori of New Zealand. He has also shared his cultural and artistic knowledge as a founding member of the Freda Diesing School of Northwest Coast Art, where he continues to teach the next generation of master carvers. In 2013, he was invested as an Officer of the Order of Canada in recognition of his important contributions to the art and artists of British Columbia.

Dempsey Bob’s Website

 

“As a sculptor, Dempsey Bob has made his life’s work the pursuit of knowledge of the past great works by Tlingit and Northwest Coast artists.

Dempsey Bob provides leadership, support and guidance to many Northwest Coast artists studying the sculptural works of great masters from the past, while he himself brings a new meaningful variation of this world-renowned art form to a contemporary audience. He is recognized as one of few master carvers of his Nation who is pushing the art forward, successfully blending contemporary with the traditional style of Tahltan-Tlingit sculptural art, while remaining true to its complex protocols and unique design history.

‘Mr. Bob has passed on his learning and his skill to younger generations of First Nations artists, but also reached out to Indigenous people across the world. His success in doing so has immeasurable significance for the future. Bob’s work has always honoured his ancestors. He has, in his turn, become an honoured ancestor figure to succeeding generations of First Nations artists.’ – Charlotte Townsend Galt, Professor Emeritus, Art History, Visual Art and Theory, University of British Columbia. Honorary Professor, Anthropology, University College London.”

Nominator: Jim Logan, Visual Artist

Logo Art Bank

See this artist’s work in the Art Bank collection

“Dempsey Bob is recognized as one of few master carvers of his Nation who is pushing the art forward, successfully blending contemporary with the traditional style of Tahltan-Tlingit sculptural art, while remaining true to its complex protocols and unique design history.”

Selected works

Discover the 2021 Winners

Know someone who deserves a GGArts award? Deadline: June 1

Submit a nomination

Dempsey Bob Sculpteur
Terrace, Colombie-Britannique

 

Dempsey Bob est l’un des artistes tahltan-tlingit les plus importants de sa génération. Maître sculpteur de renommée internationale, il a produit des œuvres, inspirées par son riche patrimoine, qui ont été largement exposées. Il a été l’un des principaux innovateurs du style tahltan-tlingit sur plus de 50 ans, et continue d’être un chef de file important pour le développement des formes artistiques et culturelles de la côte Nord-Ouest de la Colombie-Britannique. Il a établi des partenariats artistiques interculturels avec d’autres peuples autochtones, notamment les Maoris de la Nouvelle-Zélande. Il a aussi transmis ses connaissances culturelles et artistiques en tant que membre fondateur de la Freda Diesing School of Northwest Coast Art, où il enseigne toujours à la prochaine génération de maîtres sculpteurs. En 2013, il a été nommé officier de l’Ordre du Canada, en reconnaissance de ses importantes contributions envers les arts et les artistes de la Colombie-Britannique.

Site web de Dempsey Bob (en anglais seulement)

 

« Dempsey Bob a consacré sa carrière de sculpteur à l’étude de grandes œuvres du passé de la côte Nord-Ouest et de la Nation des Tlingit.

Dempsey Bob accompagne, guide et soutient de nombreux artistes de la côte Nord-Ouest qui étudient les sculptures des grands maîtres du passé tout en proposant à un public contemporain une vision nouvelle et distinctive de cette forme d’art reconnue internationalement. Il est considéré comme l’un des quelques maîtres sculpteurs de sa Nation qui font progresser l’art en mariant l’esthétique contemporaine au style traditionnel des sculptures tahltan-tlingit, tout en respectant le protocole complexe et l’histoire unique.

“Dempsey Bob a transmis ses connaissances et son savoir-faire aux artistes de la relève des Premières Nations, mais a aussi tissé des liens avec des artistes autochtones d’ailleurs dans le monde. Ses réalisations sont d’une importance inestimable pour l’avenir. Son travail rend toujours hommage à ses ancêtres. À son tour, il est devenu une figure respectable pour les générations d’artistes lui succédant.” – Charlotte Townsend Galt, professeure émérite en arts visuels et en histoire et théorie de l’art à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique et professeure honoraire en anthropologie au University College de Londres. »

Candidature proposée par : Jim Logan, artiste en arts visuels

Logo Banque d'art

Regardez les œuvres de l’artiste dans la collection de la Banque d’art du Conseil des arts.

« Dempsey Bob est considéré comme l’un des quelques maîtres sculpteurs de sa Nation qui font progresser l’art en mariant l’esthétique contemporaine au style traditionnel des sculptures tahltan-tlingit, tout en respectant le protocole complexe et l’histoire unique. »

Œuvres sélectionnées

Découvrez les gagnantes et gagnants de 2021

Vous connaissez une personne qui mérite de recevoir un prix GGArts? Date limite : le 1er juin

Proposez une candidature