Deanna Bowen Interdisciplinary Artist
Toronto, Ontario

Deanna Bowen is an interdisciplinary artist born in 1969 who makes use of a repertoire of artistic gestures in order to define the Black body and trace its presence and movement in place and time. A descendant of two Alabama and Kentucky born Black Prairie pioneer families from Amber Valley and Campsie, Alberta, her family history has been the central pivot of her auto-ethnographic interdisciplinary works since the early 1990s. In recent years, her work has involved close examination of her family’s migration and their connections to Vancouver’s Hogan’s Alley and Black Strathcona, the “All-Black” towns of Oklahoma, the Kansas Exoduster migrations and the Ku Klux Klan in Canada and the US.

The artistic products of her research have been presented at the Art Museum at the University of Toronto, the Contemporary Art Gallery and Western Front in Vancouver, the Kitchener Waterloo Art Gallery and Mercer Union, a centre for Contemporary Art in Toronto. Deanna has also received numerous awards, including a 2016 John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowship and the 2014 William H. Johnson Prize. Deanna is represented by MKG127 and lives in Toronto, Ontario.

Deanna Bowen's Website

“Deanna Bowen’s multidisciplinary practice is an almost forensic practice. Deploying a wide range of media, the result is a body of work that distills and integrates several sources of truth into remarkably compelling artworks across a wide range of media that are diagnostic of the ways in which embedded racism informs our culture.

It’s as though this artist has two mirrors: one looking deeply inward and as far back as possible, the other looking outward, reflecting with great perceptiveness the embedded patterns of prejudice as they impact Canada’s Black, Indigenous and LGBTQ communities. With an uncanny ability to discover in an archive the heartbeat of the lives it recounts, its masked agendas, and the implications of decisions taken along the way, Deanna Bowen creates videos, installations and performance works that allow us to experience these grave and startling meanings as if for the first time.”

Nominator: Vera Frenkel, FRSC, multidisciplinary artist, GGArts winner, 2006

“With an uncanny ability to discover in an archive the heartbeat of the lives it recounts, its masked agendas, and the implications of decisions taken along the way, Deanna Bowen creates videos, installations and performance works that allow us to experience these grave and startling meanings as if for the first time.”

Selected works

2020 Winners

Nominate an artist today!

Know someone who deserves a GGArts award? Deadline: June 1

Submit a nomination

Deanna Bowen Artiste interdisciplinaire
Toronto, Ontario

Deanna Bowen est une artiste interdisciplinaire née en 1969 qui recourt à différents gestes artistiques pour définir le corps noir et tracer sa présence et son mouvement dans l’espace et le temps. Elle est issue de deux familles noires pionnières des Prairies établies à Amber Valley et à Campsie, en Alberta, mais originaires de l’Alabama et du Kentucky. Son histoire familiale est au centre de son œuvre interdisciplinaire auto-ethnographique depuis le début des années 1990. Ces dernières années, elle a examiné de près la migration de ses ascendants et leurs liens avec les secteurs de Hogan’s Alley et Black Strathcona de Vancouver, les villes « toutes noires » d’Oklahoma, les migrations des Exodusters du Kansas et le Ku Klux Klan au Canada et aux États-Unis.

Les fruits de sa recherche ont été présentés au musée d’art de l’Université de Toronto, à la galerie d’art contemporain et au centre d’artistes Western Front de Vancouver, à la galerie d’art de Kitchener-Waterloo et au Mercer Union, un centre d’art contemporain de Toronto. Deanna Bowen a reçu de nombreux prix, y compris une bourse en 2016 de la Fondation John-Simon-Guggenheim et le prix William H. Johnson en 2014. Elle est représentée par MKG127 et vit à Toronto, en Ontario.

Visitez le site web de Deanna Bowen

« La pratique multidisciplinaire de Deanna Bowen est pratiquement criminalistique. Le résultat est une démarche qui distille et intègre plusieurs sources de vérité dans des œuvres d’art captivantes hétérogènes qui posent un diagnostic sur les façons par lesquelles le racisme incrusté influe sur notre culture.

C’est comme si cette artiste avait deux miroirs : un regardant aussi profondément et aussi loin derrière que possible, et l’autre regardant vers l’avant, reflétant avec une grande acuité la discrimination enracinée et ses répercussions sur les Noirs, les Autochtones et les communautés LGBTQ+. Avec une étonnante capacité à découvrir dans une archive le pouls des vies qu’elle raconte, ses intentions cachées et les implications des décisions prises, Deanna Bowen crée des vidéos, des installations et des performances qui nous font vivre ces significations graves et surprenantes comme si nous les vivions pour la première fois. »

Mise en candidature : Vera Frenkel, MSRC, artiste multidisciplinaire, gagnante aux GGArts de 2006   

« Avec une étonnante capacité à découvrir dans une archive le pouls des vies qu’elle raconte, ses intentions cachées et les implications des décisions prises, Deanna Bowen crée des vidéos, des installations et des performances qui nous font vivre ces significations graves et surprenantes comme si nous les vivions pour la première fois. »

Selected works

Gagnantes et gagnants de 2020

Proposez la candidature d'une ou d’un artiste dès aujourd’hui!

Vous connaissez une personne qui mérite de recevoir un prix GGArts? Date limite : le 1er juin

Proposez une candidature