David Ruben Piqtoukun Sculptor/Artist
Plainfield, Ontario

David Ruben Piqtoukun is a carver and sculptor born in Paulatuk, Northwest Territories. He works primarily in stone, metal, walrus ivory, caribou antler and bone, interpreting the legends and mythology of his people. His recollections of a nomadic existence followed by tumultuous years in residential school have informed his work in subtle yet dramatic ways.

His works are held in private collections, museums and galleries around the world. He has been featured in several documentaries, has mentored fellow artist Floyd Kuptana and continues to actively exhibit his work and participate in conferences. He was appointed to the UNESCO’s Canadian Committee for the UNESCO's World Decade for Cultural Development in 1989 and to the Sculptor’s Society of Canada in 2000. David Ruben Piqtoukun lives in Plainfield, Ontario.

David Ruben Piqtoukun’s website

“Since the early 1970s, Piqtoukun has consistently retained the most important element in his work by focussing on his Inuit heritage. His visual storytelling incorporates diverse materials of various stones, bone, wood and, occasionally, feathers. He is a leader, with progressive innovations of contemporary works incorporating Brazilian soapstone, Italian alabaster, marble, steel and bronze.

In exploring the human condition, Piqtoukun’s work speaks of and to people’s resilience. Through his work, he inspires, mentoring the younger generation with poignant narratives.”

Nominator: Judi Michelle Young, President, Sculptors Society of Canada (SSC) and Director of the Canadian Sculpture Centre (on behalf of the SSC)

“In exploring the human condition, Piqtoukun’s work speaks of and to people’s resilience. Through his work, he inspires, mentoring the younger generation with poignant narratives.”

Selected works

Discover the 2022 Winners

Know someone who deserves a GGArts award? Deadline: June 1

Submit a nomination

David Ruben Piqtoukun Sculpteur/artiste
Plainfield, Ontario

David Ruben Piqtoukun est un ciseleur et sculpteur né à Paulatuk, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Il travaille principalement la pierre, le métal, l’ivoire de morse, le bois de caribou et l’os interprétant les légendes et la mythologie de son peuple. Ses souvenirs d’une existence nomade, suivis d’années tumultueuses dans un pensionnat, ont influencé son travail de façon subtile et dramatique.

Ses œuvres font partie de collections privées, de musées et de galeries du monde entier. Plusieurs documentaires ont été réalisés à son sujet, il a été le mentor d’un collègue artiste Floyd Kuptana et il continue à exposer activement et à participer à des conférences. Il a été nommé au comité canadien de l'UNESCO pour la décennie mondiale du développement culturel en 1989 et à la Société des sculpteurs du Canada en 2000. David Ruben vit à Plainfield, en Ontario.

Site web de David Ruben Piqtoukun (en anglais seulement)

« Depuis le début des années 1970, David Ruben Piqtoukun a toujours fait de son héritage inuit l’élément le plus important de son œuvre. Ses récits visuels intègrent divers matériaux tels que la pierre, des os, du bois et, parfois, des plumes. C’est un pionnier avec des innovations progressives d’œuvres contemporaines incorporant la pierre à savon brésilienne, l’albâtre italien, le marbre, l’acier et le bronze.

Explorant la condition humaine, le travail de David Piqtoukun traite de la résilience des gens pour surmonter les moments difficiles. Son travail est une source d’inspiration, puisqu’il guide la jeune génération grâce à des récits poignants. »

Candidature proposée par : Judi Michelle Young, présidente, Société des sculpteurs du Canada et directrice, Centre de sculptures canadiennes (pour la Société des sculpteurs du Canada)

« Explorant la condition humaine, le travail de David Piqtoukun traite de la résilience des gens pour surmonter les moments difficiles. Son travail est une source d’inspiration, puisqu’il guide la jeune génération grâce à des récits poignants. »

Œuvres sélectionnées

Découvrez les gagnantes et gagnants de 2022

Vous connaissez une personne qui mérite de recevoir un prix GGArts? Date limite : le 1er juin

Proposez une candidature