Dana Claxton Artist
Vancouver, British Columbia

Dana Claxton is a critically acclaimed artist who works in film, video, photography, single and multi-channel video installation and performance art. Born in 1959 in Yorkton, Saskatchewan, of Hunkpapa Lakota heritage, she grew up in Moose Jaw. Her practice investigates beauty, the body, the socio-political and the spiritual, combining her multi-layered world view with Indigenous issues both past and present.

Her work has been shown internationally at institutions such as the Museum of Modern Art (New York City) and the Museum of Contemporary Art (Sydney, Australia) and is held in public, private and corporate collections across Canada, including the Vancouver Art Gallery and the National Gallery of Canada. She has received numerous awards, including Best Experimental Film at the imagineNATIVE Film Festival and the Hnatyshyn Award for outstanding achievement. Dana is head and associate professor in the Department of Visual Art, Art History and Theory at the University of British Columbia, where she teaches theory about love, performance art and studio practice. She lives in Vancouver, British Columbia, on unceded Salish Territory.

Dana Claxton's Website

“Having started her creative journey as a poet, Claxton’s visual arts practice is equal parts minimalist and lyrical. Yet her video work and performances are also always adept at confronting the commercialized commodity culture of entertainment as connected to the stereotyping and marginalization of Indigenous voices and bodies.

Claxton’s move from film and video to performance, photo, printed matter and relational practices are characteristic of the growth, risk-taking and experimentation that mark her prolific career.

Across her multifaceted practice, Claxton generously supports and encourages her creative peers and community members, while advancing an interdisciplinary visual arts practice that challenges all Canadians to reckon with the ongoing legacies of colonialism. She is a restless artist who continues to expand the representational and relational possibilities of each medium and format that she takes up, as she works to redress, provoke and expand the visual arts landscape of this country—and beyond.”

Nominator: Or Gallery, Denise Ryner, Director/Curator

Logo Art Bank

See this artist’s work in the Art Bank collection

“She is a restless artist who continues to expand the representational and relational possibilities of each medium and format that she takes up, as she works to redress, provoke and expand the visual arts landscape of this country—and beyond.”

Selected works

2020 Winners

Nominate an artist today!

Know someone who deserves a GGArts award? Deadline: June 1

Submit a nomination

Dana Claxton Artiste
Vancouver, Colombie-Britannique

Artiste saluée par la critique, Dana Claxton se consacre aux films, à la vidéo, à la photographie, aux performances et aux installations vidéo à canal simple et multiple. Née en 1959 à Yorkton, en Saskatchewan, de descendance Lakota Hunkpapa, elle a grandi à Moose Jaw. Sa pratique explore la beauté, le corps, les sphères sociopolitique et culturelle, combinant sa vision du monde multidimensionnelle et les questions autochtones, tant passées que présentes.

Ses œuvres ont été présentées à l’étranger dans des institutions telles le Museum of Modern Art (New York) et le Museum of Contemporary Art (Sydney, Australie); elles font partie des collections publiques, privées et d’entreprises dans tout le Canada, notamment à la Vancouver Art Gallery et au Musée des beaux-arts du Canada. Elle est la lauréate de nombreux prix, dont le prix pour le meilleur film expérimental du festival imagineNATIVE et le prix Hnatyshyn pour réalisation exceptionnelle. Dana Claxton est professeure associée et chef du département des arts visuels, de l’histoire et de la théorie de l’art à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique, où elle enseigne la théorie à propos de l’amour, de l’art de performance et de la pratique en atelier. Elle vit à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique, sur le territoire Salish non cédé.

Visitez le site web de Dana Claxton

« Ayant commencé son parcours créatif en tant que poète, Claxton a une pratique des arts visuels autant minimaliste que lyrique, ce qui n’empêche pas ses vidéos et ses performances d’exposer habilement le lien entre, d’un côté, la culture marchande du divertissement et, de l’autre, la création de stéréotypes autour des voix et des corps autochtones et la marginalisation de ceux-ci.

Le passage de Claxton du film et de la vidéo à la performance, à la photo, aux médias imprimés et aux pratiques relationnelles est caractéristique de la croissance, de la prise de risques et de l’expérimentation qui marquent sa prolifique carrière.

Dans sa pratique multidimensionnelle, Claxton soutient et encourage généreusement ses pairs créateurs et les membres de sa communauté, tout en faisant avancer une pratique des arts visuels interdisciplinaire qui met au défi les Canadiennes et Canadiens de tenir compte des legs du colonialisme. S’employant à corriger, provoquer et étendre le paysage des arts visuels du pays (et d’ailleurs), elle continue, dans ses mille et un projets, de repousser les possibilités représentatives et relationnelles de chaque forme et moyen d’expression qu’elle adopte. »

Mise en candidature : Or Gallery, Denise Ryner, directrice/commissaire

Logo Banque d'art

Regardez les œuvres de l’artiste dans la collection de la Banque d’art du Conseil des arts.

« S’employant à corriger, provoquer et étendre le paysage des arts visuels du pays (et d’ailleurs), elle continue, dans ses mille et un projets, de repousser les possibilités représentatives et relationnelles de chaque forme et moyen d’expression qu’elle adopte. »

Selected works

Gagnantes et gagnants de 2020

Proposez la candidature d'une ou d’un artiste dès aujourd’hui!

Vous connaissez une personne qui mérite de recevoir un prix GGArts? Date limite : le 1er juin

Proposez une candidature