Brigitte Clavette Jeweller and Metalsmith
Fredericton, New Brunswick

Brigitte Clavette is a jeweller and metalsmith who was born in Edmunston, New Brunswick. The head of Jewellery/Metal Arts at the New Brunswick College of Craft & Design from 1985 to 2017, she currently teaches part-time and works on her own artistic practice. She is a member of Royal Canadian Academy of Arts and has received the Excellence Award from the province of New Brunswick and the Strathbutler Award from the Sheila Hugh Mackay Foundation. Her work is held in the Royal Ontario Museum, the Victoria and Albert Museum, the New Brunswick Museum and the Art Gallery of Guelph’s contemporary silversmithing collection. Brigitte Clavette now lives in Fredericton, New Brunswick.

Brigitte Clavette’s website

“Clavette’s work is especially innovative and memorable thanks to her ability to pull away from traditional methods of fabrication of one object to complete compositions of parts. The work, which she sometimes refers to as functionless, crosses cultural and economic divides to create larger narratives.

Brigitte Clavette generously leads while advocating for others to succeed. Through her art and her lifelong involvement in mentorships, collectives and committee and board work, she has left an undeniably deep mark.”

Nominators: Maegen Black, Director, on behalf of the Canadian Crafts Federation, and Ann Manuel, visual artist

 

Saidye Bronfman Award Winner
for Excellence in the Fine Crafts

“Brigitte Clavette generously leads while advocating for others to succeed. Through her art and her lifelong involvement in mentorships, collectives and committee and board work, she has left an undeniably deep mark.”

Selected works

Discover the 2022 Winners

Know someone who deserves a GGArts award? Deadline: June 1

Submit a nomination

Brigitte Clavette Joallière et orfèvre
Fredericton, Nouveau-Brunswick

Brigitte Clavette est une joallière et orfèvre née à Edmunston, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Elle a été directrice du département des arts de la joaillerie et des arts du métal au Collège d’artisanat et de design du Nouveau-Brunswick de 1985 à 2017. De nos jours elle enseigne à temps partiel et poursuit sa pratique artistique. Elle est membre de l’Académie royale des arts du Canada et a reçu le Prix d’excellence en arts de la province du Nouveau-Brunswick ainsi que le prix Strathbutler attribué par la fondation Sheila Hugh Mackay. Ses œuvres font partie des collections du Musée royal de l’Ontario, du musée Victoria and Albert à Londres et du Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick et elles se trouvent aussi dans la collection d’orfèvrerie contemporaine de la Galerie d’art de Guelph. Brigitte Clavette vit maintenant à Fredericton, au Nouveau-Brunswick.

Site web de Brigitte Clavette

« Le travail de Brigitte Clavette est particulièrement innovant et mémorable en raison de sa capacité à s’éloigner des méthodes traditionnelles de fabrication d’un objet pour aboutir à des compositions de pièces complètes. Ces œuvres, qu’elle qualifie parfois d’inutiles, dépassent les clivages interculturels et économiques pour élargir le tissu narratif.

Brigitte Clavette dirige avec générosité tout en aidant les autres à réussir. Par son art et son engagement de longue date envers les mentorats, les collectifs et les conseils d’administration, elle a laissé une empreinte indéniablement profonde. »

Candidature proposée par : Maegen Black, directrice, Fédération canadienne des métiers d’art et Ann Manuel, artiste en arts visuels

 

Gagnante du prix Saidye-Bronfman
pour l’excellence des métiers d’art

« Brigitte Clavette dirige avec générosité tout en aidant les autres à réussir. Par son art et son engagement de longue date envers les mentorats, les collectifs et les conseils d’administration, elle a laissé une empreinte indéniablement profonde. »

Œuvres sélectionnées

Découvrez les gagnantes et gagnants de 2022

Vous connaissez une personne qui mérite de recevoir un prix GGArts? Date limite : le 1er juin

Proposez une candidature