Anna Torma Visual Artist
Baie Verte, New Brunswick

Saidye Bronfman winner

Anna Torma is a visual artist working in textile. She was born in Tarnaörs, Hungary, in 1952 and graduated with a degree in Textile Art and Design from the Hungarian University of Applied Arts in 1979. She has been an exhibiting artist since then and has produced mainly large-scale hand-embroidered wall hangings and collages. Anna’s work draws inspiration from folk art, anatomical sketches, gardens and graffiti, methodically composing fantastical stories.

Anna has exhibited her work internationally and is represented in many public, private and corporate collections, including the Museum of Arts and Design, in New York City, the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia, in Halifax, and the Beaverbrook Art Gallery, in Fredericton. She was a 2014 recipient of the Lieutenant Governor’s Award for High Achievement in Visual Arts. Anna immigrated to Canada in 1988 and has lived and worked in Baie Verte, New Brunswick, since 2002.

Anna Torma's Website

“Throughout her career, Anna Torma has drawn upon her life-changing experiences of emigration and conflicting responses to concepts of national identity, alongside a passion for documenting family and domestic life as an act of humility, love, and humour. Her congested surfaces are studies of the human body, erotic energy, and fantastic creatures; they are places of memory and of imagination. And they are expressions of the joyous act of making by hand—of coming to terms with the world through art.

Torma has dedicated her professional life to an astonishingly singular studio practice that has emerged from an early, deep understanding of embroidery traditions and their place in global, contemporary visual culture.”

Nominator: Textile Museum of Canada, Sarah Quinton, Curatorial Director

Saidye Bronfman Award Winner
for Excellence in the Fine Crafts

“Torma has dedicated her professional life to an astonishingly singular studio practice that has emerged from an early, deep understanding of embroidery traditions and their place in global, contemporary visual culture.”

Selected works

2020 Winners

Nominate an artist today!

Know someone who deserves a GGArts award? Deadline: June 1

Submit a nomination

Anna Torma Artiste en arts visuels
Baie Verte, Nouveau-Brunswick

Prix Saidye-Bronfman

Anna Torma est une artiste des arts visuels travaillant le textile. Elle est née à Tarnaörs, en Hongrie, en 1952 et a obtenu un diplôme en art du textile et en design de l’Université des arts appliqués de Hongrie en 1979. Elle expose ses œuvres depuis, et a produit principalement des pièces murales et collages de grande taille brodés à la main. Elle puise son inspiration de l’art populaire, de croquis anatomiques, de jardins et de graffitis pour composer de façon méthodique des histoires fantastiques.

Anna Torma a exposé ses œuvres à l’étranger et est représentée dans de nombreuses collections publiques, privées et d’entreprises, y compris le Museum of Arts and Design de New York, la Art Gallery of Nova Scotia, à Halifax, et la Beaverbrook Art Gallery de Fredericton. Elle a reçu en 2014 le Prix du Lieutenant-gouverneur pour l’excellence dans les arts visuels. Anna a immigré au Canada en 1988 et vit et travaille à Baie Verte, au Nouveau-Brunswick, depuis 2002.

Visitez le site web de Anna Torma

« Tout au long de sa carrière, Anna Torma s’est inspirée de ses expériences marquantes de l’émigration, dans les réponses conflictuelles aux concepts de l’identité nationale et dans sa passion pour l’évocation de la vie familiale et domestique dans un geste d’humilité, d’amour et d’humour. Ses toiles saturées sont des études du corps humain, de l’énergie érotique et de créatures fantastiques : elles sont des lieux de mémoire et d’imagination. Elles sont également l’expression de la joie émanant du travail manuel – de l’acceptation du monde au moyen de l’art.

Torma a consacré sa vie professionnelle à une pratique en atelier incroyablement singulière qui a émergé d’une compréhension précoce et approfondie des traditions de la broderie et de leur place dans la culture visuelle mondiale et contemporaine. »

Mise en candidature : Textile Museum of Canada, Sarah Quinton, directrice commisaire

Gagnante du prix Saidye-Bronfman
pour l’excellence des métiers d’art

« Torma a consacré sa vie professionnelle à une pratique en atelier incroyablement singulière qui a émergé d’une compréhension précoce et approfondie des traditions de la broderie et de leur place dans la culture visuelle mondiale et contemporaine. »

Selected works

Gagnantes et gagnants de 2020

Proposez la candidature d'une ou d’un artiste dès aujourd’hui!

Vous connaissez une personne qui mérite de recevoir un prix GGArts? Date limite : le 1er juin

Proposez une candidature